Ladies of Horror Flash Project – #Horror #author Michelle Joy Gallagher @Aphelia @darc_nina #LoH #fiction

The Ladies of Horror
Picture-Prompt Writing Challenge!

Image_01

Cupcake 
by Michelle Joy Gallagher 

There was a trail along the river dotted with park benches and stately oaks where Claire found herself more often than not, especially when she wasn’t feeling well. She’d moved into the adjacent apartment complex 3 years ago in the fall, and the beautiful colors of the leaves had called to her, drew her in.
.
She regretted bringing Reggie here. All of it felt tied to him now. She tried her best to make it her own again, but the thought of him coated everything like a dull film. It dampened the colors she loved so much. He had appeared to her like out of a dream but quickly turned into a nightmare, getting increasingly angry at her for tiny things. She clung to him and tried to please him but as time went on it was an impossible task. He vanished just as quickly as he’d come, leaving without a word or a trace.
.
It was late in the evening with tears in her eyes she’d finally given up at finding peace. She took a deep hitching breath that masked the voice at first. She stood to head home when the voice spoke again.
.
“Hey cupcake.”
.
It was Reggie’s nickname for her. She whipped around expecting to see him standing there in his wool jacket but there was no one.
.
She pulled her sweater closed and crossed her arms and started the trek back to her apartment. The leaves stirred in a sudden breeze and beneath the sound of them swirling was the sound of footsteps behind her.
.
She stopped and looked around. Nothing.
.
As soon as she turned back around, a hand fell upon her shoulder, fingers pinching the tender part of her neck. “Where you going cupcake?” The fingers dug in punctuating the last word. She could feel breath in her ear as the voice spoke.
.
She tried to break away and run but her other shoulder was grasped tightly and she was pulled backward, falling hard on the path. She cried out in pain. Standing over her was the dark fog outline of a tall man in a wool coat. She covered her face and screamed. She’d hit her head hard. When she opened her eyes again the fog was no longer there but her vision blurred and the back of her scalp was bleeding. She thought she had been rid of her ghost but she was mistaken.
.
.
Fiction © Copyright Michelle Joy Gallagher
Image courtesy of Pixabay.com

line_separator2

More from author Michelle Joy Gallagher:
31dLq1v2KHL._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_Disremembering
Welcome to Blackhawk, Colorado. Blackhawk has always been strange. Natural disasters. Disappearances. Murders. High strangeness is a part of daily life. We can’t hope to explain it, but we can chronicle its past. Learn from it. Fear it. Blackhawk is an experimental fiction series set in a shared universe, written by a variety of talented authors. It is the brainchild of David M Brown (Plague Doctor, Modern Animals) and Carl D Smith (Moleb the Giant, Darkness Out of Carthage). Each story will contribute to an organic, evolving mythology as diverse as the voices behind its tales. For fans of True Detective, Lost Highway, Twilight Zone, and The Terror. This is Volume Two of the series and contains five stories by five different authors, each in tune with the specific strangeness Blackhawk has to offer. NOTE: For fans of Lake Lord Publishing’s prior horror titles, be warned that Blackhawk will contain content that is perhaps more disturbing and mature.

Available on Amazon!

line_separator2

Advertisement
This entry was posted in Authors, Dark Fiction, flash fiction, FREE, Horror, Ladies of Horror, Writing Project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.